2018 Academic All-District Tennis Team Named

2018 Academic All-District Tennis Team Named
Posted on 12/13/2018
This is the image for the news article titled 2018 Academic All-District Tennis Team Named

2018 Academic All-District Tennis Team Named

CONGRATULATIONS to the 2018 Academic All District Team Tennis award and the 2018 All District Team Tennis Members. The All-District Team is voted on by District 23-6A coaches at the end of the season. The team had an outstanding season and for the 3rd year in a row qualified for the play-offs.

From August until October, we are in Team Tennis season. Each school sets up a ranking ladder and plays their best 6 girls singles, 6 boys singles, 3 girls doubles, 3 boys doubles and 1 mixed doubles made up of at least 6 girls and 6 boys from their team; some players will play both singles and doubles. Each week we compete against the other teams in our District: our number 1 girl singles plays their number 1 girl singles, etc. So there are 19 matches that go on each week's meet. A team must win at least 10 of the 19 matches against their opponent to claim victory.

"First Team All District Line 1" means that this team or player has the best record at playing 1st on their team ladder at each week's match, and so on.

First Team: Maggie Harr - Line 6

Second Team: Nathan Olachia - Line 3

Purvil Bhakta - Line 5

Jenny Rudolf - Line 1

Honorable Mention: Javi Rojas Fernandez, Fisher Sherrodd, Michael Evangelista and Annie Thomas for singles. Doubles honorable mention were Jenny Rudolf and Annie Thomas

Academic All District recipients must maintain a cumulative 90 average for the duration of their sport. Earning recognition for Brazoswood were Purvil Bhakta, Blair Burnett, Martha Estrella, Michael Evangelista, Nicholas Evangelista, Ashley Garcia, Maggie Harr, Neha Krishnan, Carson Laberge, Michael Lee, Valeria Marquez, Riley Moriarty, Reagan Moriarty, Yaire Nieto, Nathan Olachia, Javier Rojas Fernandez, Lorena Rojas Fernandez, Jenny Rudolf, Fisher Sherrodd and Annie Thomas.

Our varsity spring season of Individual Tennis starts January 18 at the Alvin ISD tournament.

Team Photo

left to right:

back row: Purvil Bhakta, Michael Evangelista, Javi Rojas Fernandez, Lorena Rojas Fernandez;

middle row: Maggie Harr, Jenny Rudolf, Michael Lee, Fisher Sherrodd, Carson Laberge;

front row: Nathan Olachia, Riley Moriarty, Reagan Moriarty, Annie Thomas.

Webmaster Login
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.